Library Guides: Government Documents at LA Tech University: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branch Information

The American Presidency Project
Our goal today is to be recognized as the authoritative, non-partisan on-line source for presidential public documents. By providing easy access to useful information, we seek to promote a more informed citizenry of the United States, high quality scholarly and media analysis, and a better understanding of American democracy throughout the world.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection is the official publication of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. It consists of the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and its predecessor, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.
Founders Online
The NHPRC has invested in these detailed collections of documents authored and received by, or related to, individual leaders of the period. Scholars have collected—from archives across the country and around the world—copies of the original 18th- and 19th-century documents, transcribed them, provided annotations, and produced hundreds of books.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Note: The Public Papers of the Presidents were discontinued with the end of the Obama Administration.
Executive Orders
Executive orders signed since 1937 are available as a single bulk download and as a bulk download by President, or you can browse by President and year.
Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries are archives and museums, bringing together the documents and artifacts of a President and his administration and presenting them to the public for study and discussion without regard for political considerations or affiliations. Presidential Libraries and Museums, like their holdings, belong to the American people.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the general public.
GovTrack
GovTrack.us tracks the activities of the United States Congress and the White House to create a more open and accountable government.
U.S. House of Representative Committee Repository
Maintained by the Clerk of the House, can be searched by calendar, committee, and keyword. 112th Congress (2011-2012) to the present.
Congressional Research Service: Search CRS Reports
Research prepared for Congress to assist members of Congress and their staff. Freely available to others. Custom advanced search options provide more intuitive access to complex information.
Stanford University CRS Archive
Harvests digital collections of CRS reports, including most of the sites listed here. Useful for finding archived copies of reports when original websites disappear.
Congressional Budget Office
Lawmakers created the Congressional Budget Office to help the Congress play a stronger role in budget matters. CBO was established to provide objective, nonpartisan information to support the Congressional budget process and to help the Congress make effective budget and economic policy. The agency offers an alternative to the information provided by the Office of Management and Budget and other agencies in the executive branch.
U.S. Government Accountability Office
GAO, often called the "congressional watchdog,” is an independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress. GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.

Constitution Annotated
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, popularly known as the Constitution Annotated, encompasses the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
The Amendments Project
The Amendments Project (TAP) is a searchable archive of the full text of nearly every amendment to the U.S. Constitution proposed in Congress between 1789 and 2022 (more than 11,000 proposals); records of petitions introduced in Congress between 1789 and 1949 that propose, support, or oppose constitutional amendments (more than 9,000 petitions); and thousands of proposed amendments that never made it to Congress.
Federal Judicial Center
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Center supports the efficient, effective administration of justice and judicial independence.
United States Courts
The U.S. Courts were created under Article III of the Constitution to administer justice fairly and impartially, within the jurisdiction established by the Constitution and Congress. This site will help you learn more about the Judicial Branch and its work.
United States Courts Opinions
United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period, and some courts may have holdings dating farther back.
Supreme Court of the United States
"EQUAL JUSTICE UNDER LAW" - These words, written above the main entrance to the Supreme Court Building, express the ultimate responsibility of the Supreme Court of the United States. The Court is the highest tribunal in the Nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States. As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution.