Rules & Regulations When Visiting the Archives
Welcome to the Department of Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives. Since much of the material housed in this repository is rare or unique and frequently fragile or brittle, it is essential that particular care be taken in handling each item. We request your cooperation in preserving this valuable and irreplaceable material for the use of future generations by observing the following regulations.
The repository reserves the right to deny access to its materials to those who do not observe the regulations or who subject the materials to treatment judged by the staff to be injurious. Theft of materials is subject to prosecution under Louisiana State, Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 215B. You will be asked to complete and sign a registration form and to provide identification. A record of the collections you consult will be listed on this form. Thank you for your cooperation.
One must show identification (driver's license or school ID)
Leave personal items in the designated area
Please leave books, briefcases, backpacks, coats, umbrellas, purses, and other items in the area designated by the staff. Only note paper and pencil may be taken to the tables in the Reading Room. We also supply these materials.
Consult material only in the Reading Room
Items may not be removed to another floor of the library nor circulated for use in another building nor taken home.
No food, drink, vaping, or tobacco
Use only pencil to take notes
Ink, ballpoint pens, indelible pencils, and typewriter correction fluid are prohibited.
Consult only one folder at a time
All materials are housed in closed stacks and are brought to the Reading Room by staff. Only one folder of manuscripts and archives may be consulted at one time.
Use materials with extreme care. Keep them in order
Materials may not be leaned on, written on, folded, traced from, or handled in any way likely to damage them. When consulting manuscripts and archives, maintain the exact order of items within a folder. Do not remove materials from the folder.
Photoduplication - scans and copies
Requests for photoduplication of material will be considered when such duplication can be done without injury to the material and when it is in accordance with donor agreements and copyright restrictions. When allowed single copies will be provided for the researcher’s reference use only. Copies of entire collections or books will not be provided. Supplying a photocopy does not represent authorization to publish.
The use of smartphones, laptops, and tablets is allowed. Laptops and tablets will be inspected after research is conducted.
Recommended Citation
The repository should be given as the Department of Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives, Prescott Memorial Library, Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, Louisiana. In citing materials, use the format: name of collection, collection number, folder number, name of repository.
